Rupert MacNeill Book Prizes

  • Dillon Langelaan and Simon Poirier were recently awarded the Rupert MacNeill book prize by the Wolfville Rotary Club. The prize was established in 1983 in memory of Rupert MacNeill, professor of Geology at Acadia University. Rupert was also very active in the local Rotary Club, who established this award in his memory. Both students are seen here receiving the prize from Dr. Cliff Stanley, also a member of the Rotary Club.

Dillon Langelaan (left image) was the 2016 recipient. Dillon is from Aylesford, NS, and is working on his honours thesis with Dr. Cliff Stanley on the chemistry of solvents used to dissolve soils in mineral exploration. Simon Poirier (right image) is from Dartmouth, NS, and is finishing his thesis on the geology of Cu-Au-Pb-Zn occurrences in the Rocky Brook area, western Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, supervised by Dr. Sandra Barr.

Go back