Rain, wind and science at the AUGC 2018

Ten Acadia students and professors attended the 68th annual Atlantic Universities Geoscience Conference in Dalhousie University on the first weekend of November. The weekend began with an Ice-breaker at Dalhousie on Thursday evening, in preparation for field trips on Friday. Most of the Acadia students participated on the early starting Parrsboro field trip, led by Tim Fedak (Nova Scotia Museum). The weather was mild, but the rain was heavy as they searched the shores at Wasson's Bluff for faults and fossils.


The field participants at Wasson's Bluff

The field trip enjoyed freshly deposited sand and equally wet sandstone.

Anthony Chu, Acadia's photographer with happy students by the sea stack.

Friday night was the CSEG Challenge Bowl, where the Acadia team took fourth place, and on Saturday the scientific presentations. Ten oral papers and seventeen posters were presented, ranging across all areas of geoscience. The winning presenters are shown below:

Jacob Newman (Memorial), Mattea McRae (Memorial), Brant Gaetz (Memorial), Kali Gee (St. Marys), Garrett Velkjar (Acadia), Liam MacNeil (UNB).

Winner of the Science Atlantic Presentation and Communication Award was Liam MacNeil (UNB), for his paper on Reconstructing paleoproductivity in the North Water Polynya employing diatom microfossils. Winner of the Imperial Best Poster Award was Mattea McRae (Memorial University) for here poster Comparing CO2 sequestration experimental methods and investigating CO2 sequestration using type I and type II serpentine groundwaters. Winner of the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geology Award was Brant Gaetz (Memorial University) for his paper Geophysically constrained microplate fragmentation model, and terrane-controlled evolution of Mesozoic basins - rifted North African borderlands, offshore Newfoundland, Canada. Winner of the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists Award was Jacob Newman (Memorial University) for his poster Numerical and experimental observation of nonlinear responses from the interaction of two progressing waves at an interface. Winner of the Frank S Shea Memorial Award was Kali Gee (St. Mary's University) for her paper Origin of epithermal-style gold mineralization in the eastern Cobequid Highlands, Nova Scotia: constraints from S isotopes and pyrite trace element chemistry. Winner of the Atlantic Geoscience Society Award for Environmental Geoscience was Garrett Velkjar (Acadia University) for his paper Decoupling sources of natural and anthropogenic impact using lake sediment archives: an example from Cecil Lake, Fort St. John, B.C.

 Acadia winner Garrett Velkjar receiving the AGS Environmental Geoscience Prize.

 Acadia delegation to the AUGC.

 Garrett Hooey showing his work on mineralization in Cape Breton Island

 Crystal Smith showing her work on mineral dispersion in till from East Kemptville.

Go back